Jazz Studies

Overview

As one of the first free-standing jazz studies departments in the nation, the USC Thornton School was a pioneer in the development of an academic curriculum dedicated to the one true American musical art form. With a world-renown faculty, the Jazz Studies department prepares young musicians for success in the professional performance arena. Recent graduates have assumed prominent roles in jazz and popular music across the nation. The USC Thornton Jazz Studies department consistently ranks in the top three to four in the nation in major jazz periodicals.

more

Spotlights

event calendar

Upcoming events

  • Jazz Night

    Students from Thornton's jazz programs showcase contemporary jazz works at Carson Center. SPRING SCHEDULE: Thurs, Feb. 15 at 8PM - Feat. USC Thornton Concert Jazz Orchestra Thurs, Feb. 22 at 8PM Thurs, Mar. 1 at 8PM - Feat. ALAJE Thurs, Mar. 8 at 8PM Mon, Mar. 19 at 7:30PM Thurs, Mar. 22 at 8PM Thurs, Mar. 29 at 8PM - Feat. USC Thornton Jazz Honors Combo Thurs, Apr. 12 at 8PM - Feat. USC Thornton Jazz Orchestra Thurs, Apr. 19 at 8PM - Feat. CreSCendo Mon, Apr. 23 at 7:30PM

    Carson Center (CTV)


  • more videos

    Videos


    news archive

    News

    March 6th memorial service for Ndugu Chancler

    February 15, 2018

    A funeral service has been announced for Ndugu Chancler, who passed away on February 3rd at the age of 65 after a battle with cancer. Memorial for Ndugu Chancler Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 11:00AM Faithful Central Bible Church in the Tabernacle building (Map) 321 N. Eucalyptus Avenue Inglewood, CA…

    more news

    all ensembles

    Ensembles

    all USC Thornton faculty

    Faculty