winds and percussion program image

Winds & Percussion

Percussion Studio


Brice Burton (MM ’17)

  • Principal Percussion, Charlotte Symphony
  • Grand Prize Winner, Atlanta Symphony Modern Snare Drum Competition, 2014
  • Runner up: Atlanta Snare Drum Competition 2012

Sidney Hopson (’08, GCRT ’10, MM ’12)

  • Percussionist for TV Show “Glee”, The Quincy Jones Musiq Consortium

Matthew Howard (’12)

  • Principal Percussion, Los Angeles Philharmonic
  • Percussion: New World Symphony

Eddie Meneses (’05, GCRT ’11)

  • Principal Percussion: Santa Barbara Symphony
  • Percussion: IRIS at Cirque du Soleil

Shane Nickels (GCRT ’13)

  • Snare Drum Instrumentalist at The United States Army Old Guard Fife and Drum Corps

Andres Pichardo-Rosenthal (MM ’12)

  • Assistant Principal Percussion, Detroit Symphony
  • Percussion: New World Symphony

Alex Singer (DMA ’11)

  • Assistant Professor of Percussion at Soochow University in Suzhou, Jiangsu, China

Tyler Stell (MM ’12, GCRT ’14)

  • Principal Timpani, Tuscon Symphony

Nicholas Terry (DMA ’10)

  • Director of Percussion Studies, Chapman University
  • Founder: Ensemble XII
  • Member, Los Angeles Percussion Quartet

Student Accomplishments

Ethan Ahmad

  • Winner, 2013 Kerope Zildjian Scholarship

Mike Daley

  • Principal Timpani with the NY Philharmonic as part of Music Academy of the West’s Global Academy audition
  • Finalist New World Symphony Percussion
  • Finalist New World Symphony Timpani
  • Finalist: Detroit Symphony Assistant Principal Timpani, Section Percussion

Jeff Grant

  • Finalist, New World Symphony Percussion

Matthew Howard

  • Finalist, New World Symphony Timpani

Emily Liu

  • Semi Finalist, Midwest Marimba Competition
  • Winner, Southern California Marimba Competition, 2011

Summer Festivals Attended:

  • Spoleto, Tanglewood, National Reperatory Orchestra, Texas Music Festival, Music Academy of the West, AIMS, Round Top, Eastern Music Festival, Marrowstone, NOI, Opera in the Ozarks

Masterclasses & Residencies:

  • Ted Atkatz
  • Bob Becker
  • Micheal Burritt
  • Wade Culbreath
  • Perry Dreiman
  • Frank Epstein
  • Tim Genis
  • Matthew Howard
  • Ji Hye Jung
  • Frederic Macarez
  • Adrien Perruchon
  • Tyler Stell
  • Svet Stoyanov
  • Naoka Takada
  • Michael Udow
  • Richard Weiner