Events for Contemporary Music

Jazz Night

Students from Thornton's jazz programs showcase contemporary jazz works at Carson Center. SPRING SCHEDULE: Thurs, Feb. 15 at 8PM - Feat. USC Thornton Concert Jazz Orchestra Thurs, Feb. 22 at 8PM Thurs, Mar. 1 at 8PM - Feat. ALAJE Thurs, Mar. 8 at 8PM Mon, Mar. 19 at 7:30PM Thurs, Mar. 22 at 8PM Thurs, Mar. 29 at 8PM - Feat. USC Thornton Jazz Honors Combo Thurs, Apr. 12 at 8PM - Feat. USC Thornton Jazz Orchestra Thurs, Apr. 19 at 8PM - Feat. CreSCendo Mon, Apr. 23 at 7:30PM

Popular Music: First-Year Showcase

Led by professors Andy Abad and Patrice Rushen, first-year Popular Music program students explore the foundations of their craft in this showcase event. POPULAR MUSIC SHOWCASES: First Year - Wed., Feb. 28 at 8PM - Tommy's Place Second Year - Fri., Mar. 2 at 8PM - Carson Center First Year - Wed., Apr. 25 at 8PM - Tommy's Place Second Year - Fri., Apr. 27 at 8PM - Carson Center Third Year - Sat., Apr. 28 at 7:30PM - Carson Center Senior Showcase - TBD

Popular Music: Second-Year Showcase

Sean Holt leads second-year Popular Music students in this showcase, focusing on stylistic nuance, groove, and ensemble technique. POPULAR MUSIC SHOWCASES: First Year - Wed., Feb. 28 at 8PM - Tommy's Place Second Year - Fri., Mar. 2 at 8PM - Carson Center First Year - Wed., Apr. 25 at 8PM - Tommy's Place Second Year - Fri., Apr. 27 at 8PM - Carson Center Third Year - Sat., Apr. 28 at 7:30PM - Carson Center Senior Showcase - TBD