UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FLORA L. THORNTON SCHOOL OF MUSIC DR. ROBERT A. CUTIETTA, DEAN

65TH ANNUAL

HONORS CONVOCATION

FRIDAY, MAY 15, 2020





UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FLORA L. THORNTON SCHOOL OF MUSIC



HONORS CONVOCATION

IN RECOGNITION

Congratulations and thanks to the following dedicated staff:

30+ YEARS

Damien Elwood Susan Lopez

20 YEARS

GORDON LA CROSS PHILLIP PLACENTI SHARON VANG

10 YEARS

BRENT ANDERSON
KIT BELLAMY
MATTHEW BURMOOD
JEFF DE CAEN
EVAN CALBI
KRYSTA CLOSE
A. PHOENIX DELGADO
MAYRA GALLO
STUART KESSLER
LIBBY KIM
LIGAYA LEWIS
MARVIN MUNSON
MICHELLE SIMONSEN
JOB SPRINGER
MAREK ZEBROWSKI

SCHOLARS & AWARDS

RENAISSANCE SCHOLARS

Scholar distinction recognizes undergraduate students who have excelled in their studies while completing a major and a minor (or two majors) in widely disparate fields of study. The objective is to achieve breadth and depth in two widely separate fields of thought.

TIFFANY CHEN
SINA KARACHIANI *
DANIEL SEAMAN
CLARA VALENZUELA
SHELBY WONG

DISCOVERY SCHOLARS

The Discovery Scholar distinction honors undergraduate students who excel in the classroom while demonstrating the ability to create exceptional new scholarship or artistic works in any major concentration offered at the University.

SINA KARACHIANI HALEY PERKINS

PI KAPPA LAMBDA AWARDS

BACHELOR'S • JUNIOR

VIVIAN STOVER • MUSIC PERFORMANCE, VOCAL ARTS

BACHELOR'S • SENIOR

GWEN HOWARD • POPULAR MUSIC PERFORMANCE

MASTER'S

JEFF FRANTOM • MUSIC PERFORMANCE,
STUDIO GUITAR

DOCTORAL

MALACHAI BANDY · MUSICOLOGY ISAAC FRIEDHOFF · MUSIC PERFORMANCE, PIANO

ENSEMBLE AWARDS

The Ensemble Award is conferred by the director upon the student or students who have made the most significant contribution to the ensemble during the year.

THORNTON ORCHESTRA

AARON BLICK
NOAH BRENEMAN
JUAN-SALVADOR CARRASCO
SVEND LYKKEGAARD
SAMUEL MILLER
CHRIS O'BRIEN

WIND ENSEMBLE

FRANCISCO CISNEROS MEGAN DUDEK SAMANTHA EPP MAX OPFERKUCH SLOAN QUESSENBERRY DANIEL SEAMAN

CHAMBER ORCHESTRA

TIFFANY CHUNG YU-TING HSU SOO JIN KANG SANHAYEA SONG YAXIN TAN ROBERTA YEE

APOLLO CHOIR

NIRAV ADUNUTHULA WEN-JIAN HUANG YOTSAWAN MEETHONGKUM

UNIVERSITY CHORUS

SIMON BLESSENOHL ALLISON YE

ORIANA CHOIR

Irene Chen Alia Mourali

CONCERT CHOIR

Preethi Chaudhari Claire Redlaczyk

CHAMBER SINGERS

LANCE HOWARD AZUSADA SAJANI RAJA JAMES MOURSUND

CLASSICAL GUITAR ENSEMBLE

SARO BABIKIAN ALEX PARK WESLEY PARK

THORNTON EDGE

NICHOLAS BENTZ MAX OPFERKUCH

BAROOUE SINFONIA

SOPHIE MATHIEU YUHAN NIU LARA URRUTIA CLARA VALENZUELA

COLLEGIUM MUSICUM

JAE HWAN KIM RACHELLE ROMERO

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT PROGRAM

CHANDLER LAWN
SVEND LYYKEGAARD
ALEXANDER MANSOUR
ADAM MILLER

CONCERT JAZZ ORCHESTRA

LAUREN ELLIS PAUL NELSON

JAZZ CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

MATT RICHARDS ANDRE SUDOL

ENSEMBLE AWARDS

JAZZ ORCHESTRA

AARON JANIK SAM REID

KEYBOARD STUDIES ENSEMBLE

Daniel Mangiaracino John May

KEYBOARD COLLABORATIVE ARTS ENSEMBLE

JOHN-MICAH BRASWELL ALEX LANSBURGH

OPERA

POWELL BRUMM
VINCENTIA GERALDINE
JULIA GERSHKOFF
VICTORIA LAWAL

MUSIC PRODUCTION MOST VALUABLE COLLABORATOR

SOPHIA DION SOPHIE FELDMAN JOHNNY MAY GRETA PASQUA ADAM YARON

MUSIC INDUSTRY ENTREPRENEUR

CAREY DIAZ MORGAN ROBERTS KRISTIN ROBINSON

POPULAR MUSIC ENSEMBLE

TIPTON BALADY SOPHIA DION THOMAS GOLDSTEIN SAWYER IKEDA REBECCA WEBSTER NOAH ZIMMERMAN

TROJAN MARCHING BAND

IVAN ANQUIANO KAI BAUER KYLE MCCOLLIN SKYY ROUSE PHILANIA WILLIAMS

STUDIO GUITAR ENSEMBLE

DYLAN GORENBERG

STRING CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

JUAN SALVADOR CARRASCO ALLAN HON NAO KUBOTA KEVIN TSAO MISHA VAYMAN

PERCUSSION CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

Soojin Kang Jonathan Wisner

BRASS CHAMBER MUSIC ENSEMBLE

SOPHIE BARNARD CAMERON HOLT SVEND LYKKEGAARD ERROL RHODEN

WOODWIND CHAMBER MUSIC

Francisco Cisneros Samantha Epp Emilia Lopez-Yanez Evan Sanchez

SPECIAL AWARDS & PRIZES

COMPOSITION DEPARTMENT MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD

NICHOLAS BENTZ ETHAN MOFFITT

PETER DAVID FAITH ENDOWED MEMORIAL AWARD IN COMPOSITION

Adeliia Faizullina

Bolghar, for orchestra

JIMMY MCHUGH COMPOSITION PRIZE ENDOWED BY LUCILLE MEYERS

DANIEL ALLAS

For What Appeared... for four performers

BRUCE ZALKIND MEMORIAL ENDOWED MUSIC AWARD

ALEX CHANG ESPEN AAS

SADYE J. MOSS ENDOWED MUSICAL COMPOSITION PRIZE

RYAN MCWILLIAMS

The Really Short Songs, for two voices and ensemble

HANS J. SALTER ENDOWED MUSIC AWARD

Nina Shekhar

Lumina, for orchestra

MITCHELL LURIE AWARD

SERGIO COEHLO MAX OPFERKUCH RYAN TOHER

VINCE DEROSA MUSIC AWARD FOR FRENCH HORN

Daniel Seaman Daniel Skib

STEPHEN MAXYM MEMORIAL MUSIC SCHOLARSHIP

Jaquain Sloan

ROBERT MARSTELLER MEMORIAL ENDOWED MUSIC AWARD

MEGAN DUDEK DOMINIC DIAZ EMILY HANDY

PRESSER GRADUATE MUSIC AWARD

EMILY THEBAUT

PRESSER UNDERGRADUATE SCHOLAR

LUCA MENDOZA

JOE AND ALICE HARNELL SCHOLAR FOR SCREEN SCORING

AUSTIN HAMMONDS ALEXANDRA (AK) KALINOWSKI ISAAC MAILACH

BETTY ROSE COLLABORATION AWARD

Austin Hammonds Alexandra (AK) Kalinowski Isaac Mailach

NATHANIEL ROSEN STRING PRIZE AND TRAVEL GRANT FUND

CAMERON AUDRAS

KANTER MUSIC INDUSTRY AWARD

Julia Craig & Natalie Lee Road To SXSW Tour 2020

CAREY DIAZ, NATALIE HARWOOD, MORGAN ROBERTS Oueer as Funk

DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS

The Departmental Award is conferred by the faculty upon those students at each academic level who have been judged to be the department or program's outstanding graduates.

OUTSTANDING BACHELOR OF ARTS

LAMI FRIEBE, B.A. JASON LEWIS, B.A.

CHORAL MUSIC

CLARA VALENZUELA, B.A. JAMES MORSUND, M.M. YEWON LEE, D.M.A.

CLASSICAL GUITAR

MAK GRGIĆ, ART.D. TOMASZ FECHNER, D.M.A.

COMPOSITION

SOPHIE MATHIEU, B.M. LUCY MCKNIGHT, B.M. NICHOLAS BENTZ, M.M. NINA SHEKHAR, M.M.

JAZZ STUDIES

ETHAN CHILTON, B.M. BEAU CORNELIUS, M.M.

KEYBOARD STUDIES

TIFFANY CHEN, B.M. KATELYN VAHALA, M.M. DUC NGOC VU, G. CERT. JOSHUA TAN, D.M.A.

MUSIC INDUSTRY

Marissa Fitzgerald, B.S.

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY

CYRUS ELIA, B.M.

MUSIC TEACHING AND LEARNING

KATELYN MATSON, M.M. TOMASZ FECHNER, D.M.A.

EARLY MUSIC

DAVID MORALES, M.A.

ORGAN

YUHAN NIU, M.M.

POPULAR MUSIC

JACK INGRAM, B.M. GRETA PASQUA, B.M.

STRINGS

TAEGUK MUN, M.M. MANN-WEN LO, D.M.A.

STUDIO GUITAR

JEFFREY FRANTOM, M.M.

VOCAL ARTS

PETER BARBER, M.M. IRENA PREDA, G. CERT. MELISSA TREINKMAN, D.M.A.

WINDS & PERCUSSION

NOAH BRENEMAN, M.M.
ADAM FLOYD, M.M.
FATIMA TRIVES ESCOLANO, G. CERT.
YASMINA SPIEGELBERG, ART. D.
BETH MITCHELL, D.M.A.
MATTHEW REYNOLDS, D.M.A.

SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARDS

BRANDON MEHRLE SFRVICE AWARD

In recognition of individuals who have shown extraordinary support for the USC Thornton School of Music through a commitment of energy and professional expertise.

TOMASZ FECHNER

STAFF RECOGNITION AWARD

In recognition of extraordinary dedication and commitment to the USC Thornton School of Music.

PHILLIP PLACENTI

DEAN'S FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES

BOB MINTZER LYNN HELDING

DEAN'S FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Frank Ticheli Bernadene Blaha

DEAN'S FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE

RICHARD SMITH
WILLIAM KANENGISER

OUTSTANDING GRADUATES 2020

BACHELOR'S

TEHILLAH ALPHONSO, POPULAR MUSIC
PERFORMANCE

MASTER'S

NINA SHEKHAR, COMPOSITION

ARTISTIC DIPLOMA

MAK GRGIĆ, CLASSICAL GUITAR PERFORMANCE

DOCTORAL

Tomasz Fechner, Classical Guitar Performance

JOSHUA TAN, PIANO PERFORMANCE

OUTSTANDING ALUMNUS

LORI CUSTODERO, MUSIC EDUCATION

SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARDS

THE RAMO MUSIC FACULTY AWARD

Established in 1971, the Ramo Music Faculty Award is conferred by the faculty and students upon a faculty member in recognition of outstanding contribution to music and education, to the USC Thornton School of Music and University of Southern California, and to Humanity.

THE 2020 AWARD IS CONFERRED UPON PATRICE RUSHEN



