Board of Councilors

The Board of Councilors serves as an advisory panel to the school’s administrative team, working with Dean Cutietta to plan our strategic direction while serving as Thornton’s ambassadors in the world of professional music.

Glen Ballard – Grammy winning record producer, songwriter, arranger
MaryAnn Bonino, Vice Chair – Professor-at-large Emeritus at Mount St. Mary’s College, Curator of the historic Doheny Mansion
Sandy De Crescent Music contractor for films
Gail Eichenthal – Executive Producer, Classical KUSC and KDFC San Francisco
Ruth L. Eliel Executive Director, Colburn Foundation
Stanley F. Farrar – Ex-LA Opera Board Member/Philanthropist
Gregg Field, Chair – Executive Partner, Concord Records, Inc.
Grant Gershon – Music Director, Los Angeles Master Chorale
Michael Gorfaine The Gorfaine/Schwartz Agency, Inc.
Suzanna Guzmán Director of Community Engagement, Los Angeles County High School for the Arts, mezzo-soprana opera singer
Carol Henry Arts leader, LA Opera Board
James Newton HowardAcademy Award winning film composer
Bruce Juell – Corporate leader, Alumni Association Board
Christopher Koelsch – President and CEO of the LA Opera
Ed Landry – Senior Partner, Musick Peeler & Garrett
Gary LeMel Former president, Worldwide Music for Warner Bros., Founding Partner of Lemac, a music-oriented film production company
Bowen H. “Buzz” McCoy Corporate leader, President, Buzz McCoy Associates
Chris Montan – President, Walt Disney Music
Randy NewmanAcademy Award winning film composer/songwriter, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee
Thomas NewmanGrammy award winning and Academy Award nominated film composer
Mo Ostin – Producer, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee
Irene Romero – CFO & Executive Producer, Kifaru Productions
Gail Samuel COO, LA Philharmonic
Alan SilvestriGrammy & Academy Award nominated film composer
Eric Small Husband of former USC trustee Flora L. Thornton
Michael Tenzer – Chairman/CEO, Tenzer Co.
Stephanie Vlahos theater coach and stage director for the Domingo-Thornton Young Artist’s Program at LA Opera
Leonard Waronker – Music producer; Former President, Warner Bros. Records
Ian White-Thomsonformer executive director of the LA Opera, former chairman and CEO of U.S. Borax Corporation