Contact

All offices can be reached at:

Department Name
USC Thornton School of Music
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0851

(213) 740-6935
(213) 740-3217 fax

Administrative Offices

Office of the Dean

MUS 402
(213) 740-5389
music.dean@usc.edu

Dr. Robert Cutietta, dean
Susan M. Lopez, associate dean
for administration and finance
Donald Crockett, assistant dean for faculty affairs
Brian Head, assistant dean for curriculum
Dorothy Ditmer, director of HR and faculty affairs

Office of Admission

TMC 200
(213) 740-8986
fax (213) 740-8995
uscmusic@usc.edu

Phillip M. Placenti, assistant dean
for student affairs & admission

Office of Student Affairs

TMC 200
(213) 740-4721
fax (213) 740-5950
thornton.studentaffairs@usc.edu

Phillip M. Placenti, assistant dean
for student affairs & admission

Office of Advancement & Alumni Relations

MUS 408
(213) 740-6474
phoenix.delgado@usc.edu

A. Phoenix Delgado, assistant dean for advancement

Office of Communications

MUS 410
(213) 740-3229
calbi@usc.edu

Evan Calbi, director of communications

Office of Music Operations

BMH 101
(213) 740-6444
music.operations@usc.edu

Jeff De Caen, associate dean for operations, technology, and construction

Opera Office

MUS 107
(213) 740-6451
damien@usc.edu

Damien Elwood, opera manager

Orchestra Office

UUC G12
(213) 740-3132
mennis@usc.edu

Matt Ennis, orchestra manager

Academic Departments

Choral Music

MUS 416
(213) 821-5756
uschoral@usc.edu

Jo-Michael Scheibe, chair

Classical Guitar

RHM 112
(213) 740-7399
classical.guitar@usc.edu

Brian Head, chair

Composition

MUS 308
(213) 740-7416
lacross@usc.edu

Donald Crockett, chair

Conducting

MUS 308
(213) 740-7416
lacross@usc.edu

Larry Livingston, chair

Early Music Performance

UGW 125
(213) 821-6052
earlymusic@usc.edu

Adam Gilbert, director

Jazz Studies

TMC 118
(213) 740-3224
contemporary.music@usc.edu

Bob Mintzer, chair

Keyboard Studies

RHM 112
(213) 740-7703
ramo112@usc.edu

Alan Smith, chair

Keyboard Collaborative Arts

RHM 112
(213) 740-7703
ramo112@usc.edu

Alan Smith, chair

Music Industry & Music Technology

TMC 118
(213) 740-3224
contemporary.music@usc.edu

Ken Lopez, chair, Music Industry
Richard Schmunk, chair, Music Technology

Musicology

MUS 308
(213) 740-7416
lacross@usc.edu

Joanna Demers, chair

Music Teaching & Learning

MUS 416
(213) 740‑3129
musictal@usc.edu

Susan Helfter, chair

Organ

RHM 112
(213) 740-7703
ramo112@usc.edu

Ladd Thomas, chair

Polish Music Center

STO 120
(213) 740-9369
polmusic@usc.edu

Marek Zebrowski, director

Popular Music

TMC 118
(213) 740-3224
contemporary.music@usc.edu

Patrice Rushen, chair

Screen Scoring

MUS 305
(213) 740-3224
contemporary.music@usc.edu

Daniel Carlin, director

Strings

RHM 112
(213) 740-7704
ramo112@usc.edu

Ralph Kirshbaum, chair

Studio Guitar

TMC 118
(213) 740-3224
contemporary.music@usc.edu

Frank Potenza, chair

Vocal Arts & Opera

RHM 112
(213) 740-7704
ramo112@usc.edu

Ken Cazan, chair

Winds & Percussion

MUS 308
(213) 740-7416
lacross@usc.edu

Kristy Morell, chair

Building Codes:

MUS is the Raubenheimer Music Faculty Building
RHM is the Virginia Ramo Hall of Music
UUC is the United University Church
BMH is Booth Memorial Hall
STO is Stonier Hall
TMC is The Music Complex