Sung-Hwa Park


  • Program:
    Keyboard Studies
  • Division:
    Classical Performance and Composition
  • Expertise:
    Piano, Functional Skills, Music Theory, Basso continuo, Class Piano
  • Instrument:


Sung-Hwa Park has served on the keyboard faculty since 2002, where she currently directs the Functional Skills program for keyboard majors and teaches piano minors at the Thornton School of Music. In the summer of 2016, she held master classes and performances on figured bass and baroque improvisational techniques in Tianjin, China, and in Fazioli Hall in Taipei, Taiwan. During the summer of 2015, she directed the keyboard musicianship skills program at the Noah Arts Hall, in Seoul, Korea for the Piano Music Teachers Association.

From 2010 to 2012, Dr. Park served as Interim Director of Piano Pedagogy, coordinating the class piano program, supervising teaching assistants, and teaching the intermediate and advanced pedagogy courses. Previously, she directed the class piano and theory applications programs at California State University, Dominguez Hills and Fullerton. Since 2009, she has served on the faculty of the And Vision student piano program, Tokyo, Japan, teaching gifted young pianists.

Park received her undergraduate degree in piano performance at Yonsei University, Korea, and the DMA in piano performance at the Thornton School of Music, University of Southern California, specializing in the classical repertoire and electronic music. Her teachers have included Paul Badura-Skoda, Stewart Gordon, Ok-Hee Lee, Menahem Pressler, Dennis Thurmond, and Robert Watson, with history studies under Gilbert Blount. An accomplished performer, she has given solo and chamber recitals in Asia and the United States.

Professional experience


  • Realization of Bernardo Pasquini’s Basso Continuo Sonata #122, Forest of Music Press, 2017, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Realization of Pasquini’s Basso Continuo Duo Sonata #112, Forest of Music Press, 2017, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Contract with Forest of Music Press for the realization of the remainder of the complete solo and duet keyboard sonatas of Bernardo Pasquini