Oscar-winning composer Ludwig Göransson with Jennifer Lame and Cillian Murphy at the 96th Annual Academy Awards Governor's Ball, all holding Academy Award statuettes.

USC Thornton celebrates 2024 Oscar winners

USC Thornton composers were celebrated at the 96th Academy Awards, held on Sunday, March 10 at the Dolby Theatre at Ovation Hollywood. Ludwig Göransson (GCRT ’08) won his second Oscar for Best Original Score for Oppenheimer, the year’s most-nominated film. He took home his first Oscar in 2019 for Black Panther. Composition alumna Katya Richardson (’19) composed the score for the Best Documentary Short Film winner, The Last Repair Shop, which focuses on four professionals who service musical instruments for Los Angeles Unified School District students. Richardson based her score on themes from Kris Bowers, who co-directed the award-winning short. USC Thornton Board of Councilors member Jane Solomon is one of the producers of the documentary, and alumnus Vince Womack (MMED ’97) is featured conducting an orchestra in the final scene.

Read more about this year’s nominees.


Göransson with Oscar-winning collaborators, Oppenheimer’s editor, Jennifer Lame, and star, Cillian Murphy, at the 96th Annual Academy Awards Governor’s Ball. (Photo by Jason Armond / Los Angeles Times)

TAGS: Composition, Screen Scoring,