Photo of Carlos Rafael Rivera

USC Thornton faculty and alumni nominated for 2021 Emmy Awards

USC Thornton faculty and alumni were nominated for the 73rd Emmy Awards, announced on Tuesday, July 13th. Alum Michael Abels (BM ‘84) received double nominations for his work on HBO’s Allen v. Farrow, including Outstanding Music Composition For A Documentary Series Or Special (Original Dramatic Score), and Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music), as did Aron Forbes (BM ‘07), earning a pair of nominations for Billie Eilish: The World’s A Little Blurry on Apple TV+ for Outstanding Music Direction and Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Nonfiction Or Reality Program.

Laura Karpman, a faculty member in the celebrated Screen Scoring program, was nominated in the category of Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score) with Raphael Saadiq, for their work on HBO’s Lovecraft Country.

Renée Elise Goldsberry (’97) earned a nomination for “Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie” in Disney+’s Hamilton, a role for which she originally won the 2016 Tony Award for “Best Featured Actress in a Musical.”

Award-winning composer and producer Ludwig Göransson (GC ’08), an alum of the Screen Scoring program, followed up his Emmy win last year for Disney+’s The Mandalorian with a consecutive nomination for Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score).

In the Sound Mixing category, Rich Weingart (’94) was nominated for his work on Amazon Prime’s The Boys (Outstanding Sound Mixing For a Nonfiction or Reality Program – Single or Multi-Camera), while Casey Stone (’93) and Danielle Dupre (’11) each received nominations for WandaVision on Disney+, for “Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie,” and “Outstanding Sound Mixing For a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour).”

Carlos Rafael Rivera (MM ‘04, DMA ‘10) scored a nomination for the episode “End Game” on Netflix’s The Queen’s Gambit (Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Or Anthology Series, Movie Or Special), while Christopher Lennertz (BM ‘95) earned a nomination for Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics with Michael Saltzman for their original song “Never Truly Vanish” on the episode “The Big Ride” from The Boys on Amazon Prime.

TAGS: Accomplishments, Alumni, Composition, Contemporary Music, Contemporary Music Division, Music Industry, Notable Alumni, Popular Music, Screen Scoring,