Screen Scoring


The USC Thornton Screen Scoring program is widely recognized as among the world’s finest in teaching the composition of music for visual media. In the summer of 2016, this longstanding graduate-certificate program transitioned, and it now awards a master of music degree.

With a faculty comprised of working professionals in the film, television and video-game industries, and with a legacy that includes such luminaries as Elmer Bernstein, Buddy Baker, David Raksin and Jerry Goldsmith, the Screen Scoring program offers its participants unrivaled practical experience and industry connections. Partnered with the USC School for Cinematic Arts, the Screen Scoring program provides student composers the unique opportunity to collaborate with student filmmakers and game designers in creating music for more than 100 anual film and game projects. Additionally, as part of their course work, student composers record 8-10 scoring projects with professional musicians and engineers on Hollywood scoring stages.

Many notable USC Thornton alumni have been honored with an Oscar, Golden Globe, Bafta, Emmy, Grammy nominations and awards, including Marco Beltrami, James Horner, James Newton Howard, Bear McCreary, David Newman, and current faculty members Bruce Broughton and Garry Schyman. For a more in-depth look at the Screen Scoring program, please visit the program website.

more spotlights


news archive


Garry Schyman

Garry Schyman to premiere concerto with the L.A. Jewish Symphony

August 17, 2016

Garry Schyman, alumnus and USC Thornton Screen Scoring faculty member, will premiere a new viola concerto, Zingaro, with the Los Angeles Jewish Symphony on August 21. The program, conducted by Noreen Green and featuring violist Matthew Cohen, highlights music by composers from the film and gaming industries, including selections from… read more

more news

all USC Thornton faculty